Slough Pride!


NME's 5th january 2011 Cover

Good news, fellow Slough-ians. Perhaps we don’t live in a musical craphole after all…

Anybody who lives in this stunningly beautiful city knows that, unsurprisingly, not many good things come out from it – well, apart from Mars and our fantastic Trading Estate, which I have the pleasure of visiting every schoolday. Oh and William Herschel, though I never knew about this until about a week ago…

But this is not today’s story. Today’s story is about Slough’s apparent lack of producing bands! Don’t get me wrong – there are kids all around the area forming bands, some of them actually being quite good, but no one seems to hear about them over a 10-mile radius. However, it seems like thanks to a new band called Brother, Slough might finally gain a bit of respect in the music business…

Or it might not.

My slightly sceptic views towards the success of Brother come from the band’s apparently arrogant demeanour. You may slate me for slating them already, but after hearing them announce their desire to “be the biggest band in the world” and  THIS interview with NME… can you really blame me? They say, “It may come across as arrogance… sometimes, but I dont think it’s arrogance; I think we just really do believe in our music and we are very ambitious.” ….then some ramblings about their lack of extensive vocabulary (for which they can be excused because of their hometown….), then: “We’ll f*****g do ya!”. Oh really? really…

Well I guess they are already guesting last week’s NME front cover.

But what business of mine is it to slate them so – before even giving you a glimpse of what they actually sound like? The first single of their upcoming debut album is called “New Year’s Day”, and… well. It’s nothing fantastic, but I can’t deny that it’s quite catchy. It’s one of those songs you can easily imagine being played on a Carlsberg advert or something, or does nobody else see that…?

You may have noticed the Brit-pop sound to them – this may be because for their debut album, they are working with Blur’s producer (Stephen Street) – the debut is scheduled to be released this September. Are we back in the Blur era? And will these guys be big enough to be the biggest band in the world? I have my doubts… but let’s give those lads a chance!

